Trinity Evangelical Divinity School



All Faculty
TEDS Faculty Since 1997

Douglas A. Sweeney, PhD

Chair of the Church History & History of Christian Thought Department
Distinguished Professor of Church History and the History of Christian Thought
Director, Jonathan Edwards Center


BA, Wheaton College
MA, Trinity Evangelical Divinity School
MA, PhD, Vanderbilt University


Dr. Sweeney came to Trinity from Yale University, where he edited The Works of Jonathan Edwards and served as a lecturer in church history and historical theology. Dr. Sweeney has served as an adjunct professor at Aquinas College in Nashville, Tennessee, and a visiting professor for Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary and Reformed Theological Seminary.

Selected Publications

Dr. Sweeney has published widely on early modern Protestant thought and modern evangelical history. His many books include two volumes in the Yale Edition of The Works of Jonathan Edwards; Nathaniel Taylor, New Haven Theology, and the Legacy of Jonathan Edwards (Oxford University Press); The American Evangelical Story: A History of the Movement (Baker Academic); The Suffering and Victorious Christ: Toward a More Compassionate Christology (Baker Academic); and Edwards the Exegete: Biblical Interpretation and Anglo-Protestant Culture on the Edge of the Enlightenment (Oxford University Press). A past president of the Conference on Faith and History, he serves on the boards and committees of numerous other professional groups, including the American Society of Church History. 

Awards, Affiliations, and Achievements

Dr. Sweeney belongs to numerous professional organizations, including the American Society of Church History, which he serves as a member of the Committee on Research. He has served as president of the Conference on Faith and History. Additionally, he is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Jonathan Edwards Research Fellowship, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University, and Henry Luce III Fellowship in Theology from the Association of Theological Schools.